The IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal are presented every three years, at the International Conference on Magnetism, to a scientist (or scientists) who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of magnetism.

A prize of $3,000 is awarded together with the medal.

The award winner will be selected by a committee composed of members of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism (C9), together with past recipients of the Magnetism Award and Néel Medal. Nominations may be made by anyone interested in the field of magnetism.

Current members of the C9 commission are ineligible to be nominated.

The nomination papers should include:
– Citation of no more than 50 words.
– Curriculum vitae of the candidate, which must not exceed two pages in length.
– List of 10 of the candidate’s most significant publications, including citation information, not to exceed one page.
– Commentary on the publications, which makes the case for the award, not to exceed two pages.
– Letters of support, up to a maximum of six pages in total.

The documents must be collated into a single pdf file called Surname_MANM.pdf, where Surname is the candidate’s last name. The file should not exceed 10MB in size.

Nominations not conforming to these rules cannot be accepted.

Nominations should be sent before January 31, 2018 to the C9 Secretary (Kai Liu) by e-mail to, and copy to