Established in 2016, the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in the field of Magnetism is awarded every year to a young scientist for theoretical or experimental work in fields of fundamental or applied magnetism. This annual award replaces the two awards for theoretical/computational work and for experimental work, which were awarded every three years at the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM).

The nominated candidate must not have completed more than eight years of research after the doctorate by the nomination date, with allowances for military service and parental leave. The award consists of a certificate, medal and a monetary award of €1,000. The awardee will be invited to present his or her results at the 2018 ICM.

The awardee will be selected by a committee composed of members of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism (C9), together with past recipients of the Magnetism Award and Néel Medal. Nominations may be made by anyone interested in the field of magnetism.

The nomination papers must include:
– Citation of no more than 50 words.
– Curriculum vitae of the candidate, which must not exceed two pages in length.
– List of six of the candidate’s most significant publications, including citation information, not to exceed one page.
– Commentary on the publications, which makes the case for the award, not to exceed two pages.
– Up to three letters of support, up to a maximum of two pages each.

The documents must be collected into a single pdf file called Surname_YSPM.pdf, where Surname is the candidate’s last name. The file should not exceed 10MB in size.

Nominations not conforming to these rules cannot be accepted.

Nominations should be sent before January 31, 2018 to the C9 Secretary (Kai Liu) by e-mail to, and copy to