The symposium on «Strongly correlated electron systems» will be held in the Bienal de la Real Sociedad Española de Física. 

Here is the full program. All the talks will be in English. Links are given to contributions to the GEFES webpage (all in Spanish). If you want to send us your contribution for the webpage, follow the instructions in Contacto.

Wednesday, July 15th.

SESSION I. Chair: Rubén Pérez (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid).

15:00 Invited: Leni Bascones (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC) Hund metals: A new paradigm in correlated electron systems

15:30 Contributed: Ana Pérez-Muñoz (Universidad Complutense de Madrid) “Electrostatic doping in strongly correlated systems”

15:50 Contributed: Gervasi Herranz (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Barcelona, CSIC) “Oxide quantum wells: Rashba spin-orbit fields modulated by selective orbital occupancy”

16:10 Contributed: Joost van Duijn (U. Castilla-La Mancha) Magnetic Ordering in the Frustrated Pyrochlores Dy2Ru2O7 and Yb2Ru2O7

16:30 Contributed: Natalia Lera (CIC-Nanogune – Universidad Autónoma de Madrid) Superconductivity from the unconventional metallic state in Li0.9Mo6O17

16:50 Coffee break and poster session

SESSION II. Chair: Antony Carrington (University of Bristol)

17:45 ContributedBelén Valenzuela (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC) Nematic state in iron pnictides

18:05 Contributed: Pilar López-Sancho (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC) Disordered Chern Insulators”

18:25 Carmen Ocal, GEFES president, will present the GEFES PhD thesis awards.

18:30 Invited: Alejandro Manjavacas (Rice University). Awarded best theoretical PhD thesis. Plasmons in low dimensional systems”

19:00 Invited: Marco Gobbi (Institut de Science et d’Ingénierie Supramoléculaires, Strasbourg). Awarded best experimental PhD thesis. “Vertical transistors based on C60: determination of energy level alignment and implications for spintronics”

Thursday, July 16th

SESSION III. Chair: Jacobo Santamaría (Universidad Complutense de Madrid).

15:00 Invited: Verónica Salgueiriño (Universidad de Vigo) Room Temperature Ferromagnetism in Antiferromagnetic Cobalt Oxide Nanooctahedra”

15:30 Contributed: Luis Fernández-Barquín (Universidad de  Cantabria) Dilatación anómala en nanopartículas de YbAl3

15:50 Contributed: Natalia Rinaldi-Montes (Universidad de Oviedo) Finite-size magnetism in transition metal oxide nanoparticles”

16:10 Contributed: Mariona Cabero (Universidad Complutense de Madrid) “Study of La0.7Sr3MnO3/BaTiO3 multiferroic tunnel junctions”

16:30 Contributed: Graciela Riesgo (Universidad de Oviedo) Magnetismo en aleaciones Fe60Al40 obtenidas por enfriamiento ultrarrápido”

16:50 Coffee break and poster session.

SESSION IV. Chair: Jaime Ferrer (Universidad de Oviedo).

17:45 ContributedRamón Aguado (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC) ”Parity crossings of Shiba states and Majorana-like zero bias anomalies in hybrid superconductor-normal nanowire systems with quantum dot behavior”

18:05 Contributed: Julia Stasinska (ICFO – The Institute of Photonic Sciences) “Non-local order in a fermionic chain with non-standard correlated hopping”

18:25 Contributed: Raúl Pérez-Peláez (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid) “Quantum Monte Carlo Simulations for Hydrogenated graphite surfaces”

18:45 Invited: Pablo Alonso (CIC-Nanogune) “Two Dimensional Nanooptics with Graphene Plasmons

Poster Session

1. Ángel Rodríguez-Fernández (Paul Scherrer Inst.) “Aramis, Hard x-rays at SwissFEL: Single Crystal Hard X-ray Self-Seeding

2. F.J. Bailén (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid) “Computation of spectral densities in unconventional superconductors”

3. Andrés Cantarero (Universidad de Valencia) “Spin-Crossover in plasmonic-magnetic nanoparticle patterns studied by means of micro-Raman spectroscopy

4. María José Calderón (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC) «Magnetism and orbital differentiation in iron superconductors»

5. Antón Fente (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid) “Direct visualization of superconductivity emerging by internal strains in Ca(Fe0.965Co0.035)2As2: atomic scale millikelvin tunneling spectroscopy”

6. A. Prados (Universidad Complutense de Madrid) “Control de las condiciones de crecimiento de capas delgadas de Bi por electrodeposición para medidas de transporte

7. Hermann Suderow (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid) “Multiband Fermi surface, anisotropic gap structure and tilted vortices in layered superconductors

8. Roberto F. Luccas (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid) “Charge Density Wave stabilization in the doped La1-xCexSb2

9. José Ignacio Martín (Universidad de Oviedo) “Tuning Interfacial Domain Walls in GdCo/Gd/GdCo Spring Magnets

10. José Ignacio Martín (Universidad de Oviedo) “Perpendicular magnetic anisotropy characterization in DyCothin films and multilayers»