Workshop: 17 – 20 May 2016 • Seminar: 23 – 27 May 2016

Scientific Coordinators:
Andrey Chubukov (University of Minnesota, USA)
Bernhard Keimer (Max Planck Institute for Solid State Physics, Germany)
Mohit Randeria (Ohio State University, USA)
Suchitra Sebastian (University of Cambridge, UK)

Katrin Lantsch (Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Germany)

High temperature superconductivity has proved both a source of great excitement and deep mystery since the first discovery of the copper oxide superconductors in the 1980s and the recent discovery of the iron pnictide superconductors. The wast majority of researchers agree that, to understand superconductivity, one needs to understand first the normal state of these materials. The latter, is, however, highly non-trivial and contains, e.g., the pseudogap phase in the cuprates and the nematic phase in iron pnictides and chalcogenides. Arriving at a theoretical understanding of the normal state in both these materials is particularly challenging given the likely involvement of multiple of these contributing factors. Within the last few years, however, an infusion of new experimental results has finally made a resolution of normal state physics in the family of high temperature superconductors a tangible possibility. The workshop will focus on in-depth discussion of the origin of the pseudogap in the cuprates (e,g, whether it is a precursor to some other state or a state with broken symmetry) and of unconventional normal state properties of Fe pnictides and chalcogenides. Similarities and differences between these two classes of high-temperature superconductors will be discussed.

The list of invited speakers:
• James Analytis (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
• Elena Bascones (ICMM-CSIC, Madrid, Spain)
• Dimitri N. Basov (University of California, San Diego, USA)
• Sergey Borisenko (IFW Dresden, Germany)
• Bernd Büchner (IFW Dresden, Germany)
• Andrea Cavalleri (MPI for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Hamburg, Germany)
• Amalia Coldea (University of Oxford, UK)
• Piers Coleman (Rutgers University, Piscataway, USA)
• Luca de’ Medici (ESPCI, Paris, France)
• Rafael Fernandes (The University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA)
• Ian Fisher (Stanford University, USA)
• Nuh Gedik (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA)
• Antoine Georges (École Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France)
• Martin Greven (The University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA)
• Neil Harrison (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
• Sean Hartnoll (Stanford University, USA)
• Jenny Hoffman (The University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada)
• N.E. Hussey (Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands)
• Marc-Henri Julien (LNCMI CNRS, Grenoble, France)
• Catherine Kallin (McMaster University, Hamilton, Canada)
• Aharon Kapitulnik (Stanford University, USA)
• Bumjoon Kim (MPI for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany)
• Steven Kivelson (Stanford University, USA)
• Hiroshi Kontani (Nagoya University, Japan)
• Gabriel Kotliar (Rutgers University, Piscataway, USA)
• Alessandra Lanzara (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
• Dung-Hai Lee (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
• Patrick A. Lee (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA)
• Mathieu Le Tacon (MPI for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany)
• Andrew Mackenzie (MPI for Chemical Physics of Solids, Dresden, Germany)
• Dmitrii Maslov (University of Florida, Gainesville, USA)
• Yuji Matsuda (Kyoto University, Japan)
• Walter Metzner (MPI for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany)
• Andrew Millis (Columbia University, New York, USA)
• Kathryn A. Moler (Stanford University, USA)
• Catherine Pépin (CEA Saclay, Gif-sur-Yvette, France)
• Srinivas Raghu (Stanford University, USA)
• Subir Sachdev (Harvard University, Cambridge, USA)
• Jörg Schmalian (Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Germany)
• Todadri Senthil (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA)
• Louis Taillefer (Université de Sherbrooke, Canada)
• Oskar Vafek (Florida State University, Tallahassee, USA)
• Chandra Varma (University of California, Riverside, USA)
• Matthias Vojta (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
• Xingjian Zhou (Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, PR China)

Applications for participation and oral or poster contributions are welcome and should be made by using the application form on the event’s web page. The number of attendees is limited. The registration fee for the event is 120 EUR and should be paid by all participants. Costs for accommodation and meals will be covered by the Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems. Limited funding is available to partially cover travel expenses. Please note that childcare is available upon request.

Applications received before 29 February 2016 are considered preferentially.